Speaker's Decision Under Anti-Defection Law

2024 • 10min • News • National


Published On: February 29, 2024 - The Speaker of the Himachal Pradesh Assembly announced the disqualification of six Congress MLAs who had crossed over to vote for the BJP in the Rajya Sabha election. The disqualified MLAs include Rajinder Rana, Sudhir Sharma, Inder Dutt Lakhanpal, Devinder Kumar Bhutoo, Ravi Thakur, and Chetanya Sharma. After the disqualification, the Congress now has 34 MLAs in the 62-Member house. Three independent MLAs who supported the Congress, also cross-voted for the BJP in the Rajya Sabha elections.